Launch of Young Women's Interfaith Fellowship

The Commission for Australian Catholic Women (CACW) and the Australian Catholic University (ACU) have launched their new partnership in promoting interfaith relations with the prayer that "the peace that we long for will take root in our hearts".

The CACW and ACU officially launched the Young Catholic Women's Interfaith Fellowship on Tuesday. The project is aimed at identifying and training young women to take a leadership role in promoting interfaith relations.

Guests at the Canberra launch included the Apostolic Nuncio, Archbishop Ambrose De Paoli and President of the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference, Archbishop Francis Carroll, religious leaders and representatives of all faiths and other Church and community leaders including Senator Kate Lundy

CACW Chair, Geraldine Hawkes, said the Commission took its initiative from Pope John Paul II's exhortation that: "The peace we long for will take root in our lives when the understanding of dialogue shifts from an exchange of ideas to an exchange of gifts".

"This initiative towards more meaningful participation of young women in the life of the Church is a response to the voices around us," Mrs Hawkes said.

"Voices of faith; Voices of hope - we are travelling together on the road as brothers and sisters; Voices of love - we want to make space for the participation of young women to inform our dialogue. May the peace that we long for take root in our hearts."

ACU National Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Sheehan said the Graduate Certificate in Interfaith Relations which forms the basis of the Fellowship was a significant commitment by the university.

"It develops university mission in new ways by extending theology into the area of interfaith dialogue," he said. "This Graduate Certificate is unique for ACU and possibly the world in its combination of academic study and formation in interfaith dialogue for leadership especially for young women."

Ten women will take up the $12,000 Fellowship in 2006. They are Therese Rodway, Archdiocese of Canberra & Goulburn; Beth Doherty, Archdiocese of Melbourne; Fran Byrne, Diocese of Townsville; Alice Priest, Diocese of Port Pirie;Kimberley Davis, Archdiocese of Brisbane; Chantelle Ogilvie, Archdiocese of Sydney; Julia Trimbole, Diocese of Parramatta; Suzanne Schultz, Diocese of Port Pirie; Michelle Wood, Archdiocese of Perth; Hannah Norgrove, Archdiocese of Canberra & Goulburn

Pictured (L-R): Francis Carroll, President of ACBC, Hannah Norgrove, Fellowship recipient, Geraldine Hawkes, Chair CACW, Therese Rodway, Fellowship recipient, Professor Peter Sheehan, Vice Chancellor, ACU National. Recipients of Inaugural Young Catholic Women's Interfaith Fellowship (Catholic Communications Canberra)

CACW and ACU launch Young Women's Interfaith Fellowship (Commission for Australian Catholic women 19/10/05)

LINKS (not necessarily endorsed by Church Resources)
Commission for Australian Catholic Women
ACU National

Catholic women take up Fellowship to break Interfaith barriers (CathNews 9/8/05)
World Day of Prayer Women's Fellowship announcement (CathNews 4/3/05)
Premiers, Downer pleased with Catholic Women interfaith plan (CathNews 24/2/05)

ACU National launches Graduate Certificate in Interfaith Relations (Australian Catholic University 13/10/05)

20 Oct 2005