Catholic News - Catholic Telecommunications, a devision of Catholic Resources





Women's Commission shares deputy position among three contenders

The Bishops' Commission for Australian Catholic Women has announced it will share the leadership position of Deputy Chairperson among three commissioners, in order to "honour the commitment, energy and gifts of its members".

CACW chair Geraldine Hawkes said the shared leadership model would see Teresa Lynch take on the role of Deputy Chairperson in 2004, Joan Hendriks in 2005 and Tracey Rowland in 2006.

The decision was taken at a meeting of the full Commission in the Diocese of Ballarat last week, following the retirement from the Commission of Sr Sonia Wagner SGS.

Mrs Hawkes said: "To honour the nominations of the three Commissioners who were prepared to take on the commitment, and to enable their gifts to be shared more broadly, all three nominees were invited to share this leadership role over the course of the next three years."

The Commission is an initiative of the Catholic Bishops of Australia in response to the Woman and Man - One in Christ Jesus Report on the participation of women in the Church.

"A key focus of the Commission is to establish links with every diocese in the country in order that the work promoting the fuller participation of women may flow across all layers of the life of the Church," Mrs Hawkes said.

Commission for Australian Catholic Women

Commission for Australian Catholic Women
Woman and Man: One in Christ Jesus

17 Nov 2003